At sy bukser – del 2. / sewing pants – part 2.

Så er det da vist på høje tid at jeg kommer videre m buksesyningen… Hvis du vil følge med fra starten, så finder du Del 1 HER

Nåmen, når nu mønsteret er klart, skal stoffet klippes.

Jeg har valgt noget gråt vævet stof, med et godt fald, som jeg har haft liggende i flere år, så jeg kan ikke rigtig huske hvor det er fra. Jeg lægger stoffet på bordet (foldet en gang) med lige trådretning. Trådretningen har jeg fundet ved at rive stoffet over (ikke klippe). Mønsteret lægges på stoffet så trådretningen på mønsteret (markeret med en pil) følger trådretningen på stoffet (jeg måler langs mønstrets markering for trådretning ud mod kanten af stoffet, og sikrer mig at afstanden fra pilen til stofkanten er den samme hele vejen langs mønsterdelen.

klar til klip

Jeg sætter nåle i  hjørnerne og langs side- og indersømme inden jeg klipper langs mønstret (jeg bruger for det meste en rullekniv, men man kan jo lige så godt bruge en saks).

Når delene er klippet ud, laver jeg markeringer inden jeg fjerner mønsterpapiret. Jeg markerer m små klip i sømrummet og markerer spidsen af indsnittene med en knappenål fra hver side:

markering   

Og så sørger jeg lige for at jeg kan skelne mellem ret og vrang af stoffet (når det altså er sådan noget stof hvor det er svært at se forskel). Jeg sætter simpelthen et stykke tape på vrangsiden (den der vender udad):

 tape   tape igen

Så fjerner jeg mønsteret og til sidst ordner jeg trævlekanterne på overlockeren (men man kan jo også bruge almindelig zigzag), så stoffet ikke trævler:

overlockning af sømrum

Og så er jeg klar til at sy bukserne…. (Fortsættelse følger!)

Well it’s about time that I’m moving on with the pants! If you want to follow the process from the beginning, you can begin at Part 1 HERE .

Now that the pattern is ready, I’m going to cut the fabric. The fabric I’m using is a grey woven pants-fabric with a nice drape (somewhat heavy). I place the fabric on the table, following the grainline, which I have established by tearing the fabric end instead of cutting it. I then place the pattern pices on the fabric, so that the grainline on the pattern (marked with arrows) matches the grainline of the fabric. I make sure that the pattern pieces are placed correctly by measuring from the grainline arrow to the edge of the fabric and ensuring that the grainline on the pattern has the same distance to the fabric edge at both ends of the line.

<see pic 1>

I then pin the pattern pieces to the fabric at corners and also place a few along the side and inseams, before I cut the fabric (I use a rotary cutter, but you can use shears just as well).

Once the pieces are cut, I transfer some markings to the fabric before I remove the pattern. I usually mark by snipping the seam allowances and mark the point of darts with pins from each side.

<see pic 2>

Then I make sure that I can tell the difference from the right and the wrong side, by putting a small piece of tape on the fabric wrong sides:

<see pic 3 and 4>

Then I remove the pattern pieces and can now finish the raw edges using my overlocker (serger), to avoid ravelling. You can also use ordinary zigzag stitches.

And now I’m ready to start sewing the pants…. (To be continued!)

3 responses to “At sy bukser – del 2. / sewing pants – part 2.

  1. maybe you should tell people, that with some fabric it is not a good idea to tear it, because you might destort the grain?
    So far the trousers look great!

  2. oh, I didn’t even know that…. HOw do you know what kind of fabric you shouldn’t tear?

  3. I think you are amazing to be sewing pants. I’m determined to learn to sew clothes in the coming year so I’ve enjoyed reading your tutorials! Love the rose garden yarn too.

Leave a Reply

