Sewing again: ONION 2026 – tunic

Trying to post via Flickr

I have been sewing again! Among other stuff (not garments for me!) I’ve made this ONION 2026.

Oh, and before we move on, I want to tell you, that I have created a Facebook group about ONION sewing patterns.. You can find it here (Facebook link).

Here is the review (also published on Patternreview.com):

I finished this tunic in the beginning of October (was my September/October garment), but never got around to take any pictures – and the light just gets worse every day.
Finally the other day I was home early-ish and was able to take pictures… but they didn’t turn out great, I’m afraid.

Here are some more (at Flickr):
2026 pictures

Black is really not my colour, but I like this tunic anyway.. It has the tunic look (although it might be difficult to tell from the pictures) with the gathers over the bust and all, but doesn’t make me look like I’m 8 months pregnant!
I didn’t have enough of this mystery jersey, so I shortened the tunic/dress by 15 cm and left out the sleeve hem edges.

Pattern Description:
Pattern is for a raglan tunic or dress made in knit fabric (but you can use woven fabric for the hem and neckline edges). It has gathers under the neckline edge, and back darts.

Pattern Sizing:
It’s a multisize pattern that you trace in your size. It comes in XS (bust 84 cm = 33″) to XL (bust 108cm = 43″).
I made shoulders and neckline size XS and the side seams and darts size S.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I think it looks like the pattern drawing. I made it with out the belt and I didn’t have enough of the fabric, so I shortened the tunic/dress by 15 cm and left out the sleeve hem edges.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes I think they were, all though I didn’t follow them completely. Because I hate waiting for seams to cool after pressing, I like to construct garments, so I have something to pin and sew while I wait. In this case, I sewed the slleves to the front, then the back darts, then the sleeves to the back and the side seams, before I attached the neckline edge.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the style and the shape, and the possibility to play with woven fabric for the edges, allthough I didn’t do that this time.

Fabric Used:
I used a mystery jersey that I also used for my strap top with twisted yoke.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
Except the shortening of the dress and sleeves, due to fabric shortage, none…

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes I would and will. I have already worn it a lot, and I like the relaxed look and fit, and to wear it over trousers (even though I am wearing jeans in the photo). So I have another version planned (but not cut yet.. you know how it is – work gets in the way of sewing all the time…)

One response to “Sewing again: ONION 2026 – tunic

  1. Jeg kan rigtig godt lide den – jeg elsker tunikaer, og det er dejligt, at den er faconsyet. Flot til jeans, men den har mange muligheder!🙂

Leave a Reply

